“Cholera Moves Into the Beleaguered Haitian Capital” (TIMES, 11/10/10)


          When I was a Catholic I would have said of Haiti: What a godforsaken place!

What do I say as an atheist?

          The earthquake struck the island on January 12th, almost ten months ago. Decent housing with modern plumbing could have been built by this time. So many people  still living in tents on land heaped with garbage and covered with filthy waterholes is disgraceful. Reports that only a fraction of charitable donations actually reach the needy inhibit potential donors.

          Who is in charge of the relef effort? It sure can’t be the God I learned about in my youth. I can remember praying to a “merciful Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

